Minnesota Turkey Promoters of the Year Announced


For immediate release

Contact: Lara Durben(763) 682-2171 or lara@minnesotaturkey.com

Photo – Candy Freeman

Photo – Marilyn McAlpine

(Buffalo, MN )… The Minnesota Turkey Research and Promotion Council (MTRPC) has honored Candy Freeman of Melrose High School, Melrose, Minn., and Marilyn McAlpine, retired MTRPC Certified Home Economist, Stillwater, Minn., with the “Turkey Promoter of the Year” award.

Candy Freeman

For the past 34 years Candy Freeman has taught Family and Consumer Sciences, formerly known as Home Economics, at Melrose High School where, for many years, she has held a “Turkey Cook-off” where students use turkey products in their recipes and are require to plan their menu, prepare the food item and design a table presentation.  They are judged by locals in the community on taste and presentation of their menu choice.

In addition, Freeman is:

·Co-founder of the Melrose Area Early Childhood Family Education program;

·Has been involved with Family Literacy program for two years, working with Hispanic mothers and their children.

·Active member of the Melrose Area Women of Today

·Member of the St Cloud Area Home Economists

·And she enjoys gardening, canning and baking, entering baked goods at the Minnesota State Fair

“Candy is definitely a long-time huge supporter of the turkey industry and promotes turkey and other foods for a healthy lifetime,” said MTRPC Executive Director Steve Olson. “She is reaching these future turkey consumers at a perfect time in their lives.”

Freeman is retiring from teaching at the end of the current school year.

Marilyn McAlpine

The second recipient – Marilyn McAlpine – is no stranger to Minnesota’s turkey industry, having begun her involvement with MTRPC 40 years ago this year, first as a food consultant and then as MTRPC’s Certified Home Economist for 32 years.  She led educational programs for dieticians, home economists, chefs, foodservice professionals and consumers.  She also created “Let’s Talk Turkey” and “Turkey Time Kit” lesson plans for teachers.  She has received the Ranelius Award which is the Minnesota turkey industry’s highest honor; and in 2002, she received the National Turkey Federation’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

“As much as she accomplished during her career, she is receiving MTRPC’s Promoter of the Year award, in-part, for her tireless efforts promoting turkey after her retirement,” said Olson. “She continues to be valuable resource and promoter of turkey & Minnesota’s turkey farmers and processors.”

The awards were presented at the MTRPC Annual Meeting on March 16 in St. Paul, Minn.

For more information about the Promoter of the Year Award or the Minnesota Turkey Research & Promotion Council, please call 763/682-2171, email info@minnesotaturkey.com or visit www.Minnesotaturkey.com.


Photo cutlines:2010-11 MTRPC President Kent Meschke is featured with each award recipient.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *